Dreaming of Summer

I am so very fed up of the cold, aren’t you? 
 
Most people love December – spending time with family and friends, over eating, watching the snowman, insert your own nostalgic reference here, but January?  Meh.
 
Well, I might not be able to sit in the back garden sipping mojitos and flipping through country living quite yet, but I see no reason not to plan for the days when I can!

I dream of afternoon teas with parasols, of dinner parties that start at dusk and carry on til the small hours, of trees and pathways lit by candles, of blankets draped across chairs for when it’s too cool to stay out but you’re having too much fun to go in……..oh hurry up won’t you spring!

There are some frankly amazing images out there and loads of ideas to make your own.  I could spend hours and hours trawling the internet ooh-ing and ahh-ing over tea parties, picnics, and a whole host of spendiferous things.  I keep them all in moodboards so I can flick through them when I’m planning events or helping people with their weddings, or, on days like today, just dreaming. 

During the day it’s all about florals for me, but when it comes to evening…. well, it’s all about the candles, of course!

Here are some of the pics making me feel warm inside – turn up the heating and enjoy.

My perfect Afternoon Tea – chat, florals, bunting!

  
 Summer Afternoon Tea

 Decadent evenings under the stars…..

 Supper Under the Stars

Image credits for Afternoon Tea from top left:

There’s no such thing as too much bunting is there – these are from Not on the High Street

Good lord I want to be here – amazing supper set up on Visualise taken from a feature on Duet Weddings

Pretty lunchtime table setting (and many more if you follow the link!) from Lisa Dawn Photography

There’s something about this that makes me think of country fairs – it’s a Laura Ashley photoshoot shown on Maggie Moon Interiors

A day bed strewn with cushions and throws – perfect for lounging around in the sun, from House to Home

A quick snap taken by moi at a party hosted by a friend in their gorgeous garden last summer!

Caravan Chic on My Deco

  

Image credits for Supper Under the Stars from top left:

It’s been blogged a million times before, but I so want to host a party like this!

Just love this colours – so much so I pinned them

Love the lighting on this outdoor dining idea on Room for Dessert

Love the easy-to-achieve simplicity from Re-loved Rubbish 

Jam jar lanterns from Make Do & Mend – Make some!

Logs for seats!  Sweet idea from Space for Inspiration

Incredibly gorgeous and vibrant image of a dessert table (complete with paper crane curtain – wowsers!) on Ruffled

 I love Moroccan tea glasses – they’re great for puddings or to use as vases, but I especially like to use them for mojitos!

and finally, some pretty little violets in a Hello Vintage birdcage, so sweet for table centes

Leave a Reply

